最早期在日本出現的白士多啤梨-「初戀之香」

自從第一粒白色士多啤梨-「初戀之香」(Hatsukoi-no-kaori 初恋の香り)在2009年在日本現世後,白士多啤梨的人氣一直增加。白士多啤梨之所以有這個名字是因為它們在成熟後並不會變成紅色。它們皮部的顏色都是白白的,有時候也會帶有一點粉紅色,再加上紅紅的種子,就很容易讓人聯想到初戀的感覺。當你把它切一半,就會看到連裡面也是白色的哦。白色的=酸酸的?並不是!事實上,白士多啤梨是又甜又軟的上等貨呀! ヽ(๑╹ڡ╹๑)ノ

但是,我們可以想像到人們一開始對新東西又會有一定的抗拒。在那時候,很多農民都抱着「士多啤梨都是紅色的,白色士多啤梨不會有人想買」的偏見,大多都拒絕栽種白色士多啤梨。白士多啤梨的研發者,山梨県小淵沢町的「三好農業科技有限公司」(三好アグリテック株式会社),用了5、6年的時間來打破舊有觀念。直到今天,白士多啤梨變得愈來愈有名,而漸漸地也得到了外地遊客的賞識呢!

攝自 馬場理沙
白色士多啤梨缺乏變成紅色的因子

白士多啤梨是不是看到鬼了被嚇到臉色發青? ฺ(☼Д☼) 我無疑地相信就是這樣!直到偉大的科學把我從睡夢中打醒。

要了解紅色士多啤梨的生長過程,它們都是以「草莓屬變應原」 (Fra a1) 這種蛋白,在成熟期間由白色變成紅色。而白色的士多啤梨就是因為缺乏了可以幫助它們變紅的Fra a1蛋白,以至成熟後還是白白的。

白色士多啤梨比紅色士多啤梨更甜、更軟

白色士多啤梨看起來就像還沒成熟的士多啤梨。你的腦海中一定會存有這個疑問:「它們是不是都酸到爆呢?」但其實它們一般都比紅色士多啤梨更甜呢!(っ˘ڡ˘ς)

就是因為它們有着酸酸的外表,就是因為你的腦袋一直告訴你它們是酸的,就是因為你都做好了很酸很酸的心理準備,等到它最後到了你的口中,那又軟又甜的口感更讓你愛不惜手呀!

白士多啤梨有12度的糖份含量,而紅色士多啤梨一般只有11度左右。它們比紅士多啤梨更軟,還有更獨特的香氣呢!

日本最有名的白士多啤梨種類

在市場上有很多雜交種類的白士多啤梨。很多新品種更還沒命名。下列是在日本比較有名的其中4種。直到今天,「初戀之香」(最早期的日本白士多啤梨)還是 在最受歡迎白士多啤梨品種中名列前方的。之所以那麼受大眾喜愛,是因為「初戀之香」的甜度、酸度、軟度在味覺上的平衡都恰度好處呀!

 

初戀之香                                                                                            天使之實

 

雪兔                                                                                                      櫻

白色士多啤梨是奢華的產品

栽種白士多啤梨並不容易。日光量和生長環境的控制上都很嚴勵。只有少數的士多啤梨農場有栽種,而那些農場中白士多啤梨的生產量也很少。就是因為這樣它們的價格也就相對昂貴。你很容易就會花掉1000円($70HKD)在單單一粒白士多啤梨上。但事實上,它們的價格並沒有比很多上等的紅士多啤梨貴呀!

在士多啤梨農場也可以摘到高貴的白士多啤梨

士多啤梨的產季是在每年的12月至隔年的4月左右。但也有一些溫室是全年都會提供士多啤梨的!吃士多啤梨的最佳時間為1月到3月。因為這段期間士多啤梨的成熟週期比較長,而它們存儲糖份的時間也就更長了!

任食的士多啤梨農場在日本是很普遍的。由於愈來愈多的士多啤梨農場也開始種植白士多啤梨,他們會讓到訪的遊客限量地嚐嚐他們的白士多啤梨哦!但就算不容易找到可以吃白士多啤梨的農場,單單日本的紅士多啤梨就有超過50個品種可以在冬季隨處找到。你又是否準備好了你的吃士多啤梨行程呢? v(❆ڼ❆)v

Loading Likes...

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

The very first white strawberry in Japan – the “Fragrance of First Love”

White strawberries’ popularity is gradually increasing in Japan since the very first one called “Fragrance of First Love” (Hatsukoi-no-kaori 初恋の香り) appeared in 2009. The name was given as this strawberry does not turn red even if it is ripe. The skin is ivory white with pink blushes and red seeds, giving the image of first love. When you cut it in half, its inside is purely white. White = Sour? Not really! It is actually a delicate strawberry with strong sweetness and is very soft. ヽ(๑╹ڡ╹๑)ノ

However, force of resistance for new things is inevitable. At that time, many farmers refused to cultivate white strawberries with the blackboard image in mind that strawberries are red and that white strawberries could not be sold. The creator, Miyoshi Agri-Tech Co. Ltd. (三好アグリテック株式会社) located in Kobuchizawa-cho, Yamanashi Prefecture (山梨県 小淵沢町), used 5 or 6 years to clear all those obstacles. White strawberries eventually became very popular and are ever more popular now, with travellers from overseas found them extraordinary.

Photo by 馬場理沙
White strawberries lack the reddening ability

Are white strawberries white because they just saw a monster and were panicking? ฺ(☼Д☼) I believed that it’s undoubtedly true until science had given me a good snap on my face in order to wake me up.

Following the life-cycle of red strawberries, they begin with white flesh and redden as they ripen thanks to a protein called Fragaria allergen 1 (Fra a1). For white strawberries, they stay white in colour even after ripening because they lack the ripening protein Fra a1, which is responsible for the colour change.

White strawberries are sweeter and softer than red strawberries

White strawberries looks like the unripe strawberries. You might have this questions on your mind: “Is it not sour?”. It is actually sweeter than the red strawberries! (っ˘ڡ˘ς)

Looking at its acid-like appearance, expecting that it must be super sour, when it finally reaches your mouth, its softness and sweetness will definitely melt your heart. White strawberries contain 12 degrees of sugar content while that of red strawberries is 11 degrees on average. They are also softer with a characteristic fragrance compared to the red ones.

The most famous varieties of white strawberries

There are many different varieties of cross-bred/hybrid white strawberries in the market. Many of them do not even have a name yet. Below is among the most well-known varieties of white strawberries. Until today, “Fragrance of Love” (the very first white strawberry in Japan) is still one of the best to have possessed a great balance between its softness, sourness and sweetness.

 

Fragrance of First Love                                                                Fruit of Angel

 

Snow Rabbit                                                                                     Cherry Blossom

White strawberries are luxury products

It is not easy to cultivate white strawberries. Sunlight exposure is highly controlled. Few strawberry farm grows them and their quantities are limited in a typical strawberry farm. That’s why their prices are relatively high compared to many red strawberries. You can easily pay 1000 yen for a single white strawberry. But actually the prices are not much higher than the very high quality red strawberries.

Picking white strawberries in a farm is possible

The strawberry season in Japan is around December to April. But you can find strawberries all year around in green houses. Strawberries are at their best condition from January to March as strawberries ripens slowly during that period of time and this allows the growing concentration of sugar in them.

Time-limited all-you-can-eat strawberry farms are very common in Japan. As more and more farms are trying to cultivate white strawberries, there exists some strawberry farms which allow visitors to try them, mostly with a limited quantity per person. But even if it is not easy to find the farms for white strawberries picking, there are over 50 varieties of red strawberries with different softness and sweetness for you to taste during winter season. It is time to go for a strawberry challenge! v(❆ڼ❆)v

 

 

Loading Likes...

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *